Ultimate magazine theme for WordPress.

- Advertisement -

TSC Shocker for Teachers Posted to Hardship Areas Following this Latest official Announcement


- Advertisement -

TSC Shocker for Teachers Posted to Hardship Areas Following this Latest official Announcement

The Teachers Service Commission (TSC) has taken many teachers bybsurprise after it reviewed the list of subcounties that will from now henceforth be Reffered to as Hardship areas.


- Advertisement -

Consequently, teachers who have been working in these areas and have been receiving incentives (hardship allowances) to help sustain them in those places by compensating for lack of social amenities, infrastructure and a challenging environment will have to take a huge pay cut.


The Commission made an official announcement that will see teachers working in these areas have their Salaries reduced significantly.

Attention; Stay tuned  for a full list of all TSC listed new hardship areas soon.

This announcement comes after TSC kicked off the process of mapping out and reviewing hardship regions in the country in September 2920.


TSC Paycuts 2020

This  salary reduction of hardship allowance in areas where it has been scrapped off is expected to take effect on 1st December 2020.

- Advertisement -

TSC officers had been dispatched to various sub counties to assess and collect data for centers to be excluded because of the development achieved in such areas over time and others to be included to enjoy the incentives because of the conditions which are likely to demotivate teachers from working in such areas.

Two months ago World Bank called for scrapping of hardship allowances paid to government employees to save kshs. 3 billion as part of cost cutting measures to return the country on track after increased spending during coronavirus pandemic. Hence the Move by TSC.


“The review of hardship zones is needed as several regions have developed their infrastracture and social amenities over the last two decades and are no longer classified hardship areas,” read the World Bank report on Kenya Public Expenditure Review.

TSC has listed some counties as hardship areas but not all schools or Sub counties are captured as hardship centers.


Previous Counties listed as hardship areas by TSC were Mandera, Marsabit, Wajir, Turkana, Samburu, Lamu, Isiolo, Taita Taveta, Garissa, Kilifi, Kwale, Narok, Tana River and West Pokot.

TSC Hardship allowances per job group

This has come as a shock to many teachers who have been using the hardship allowances to secure loans.


Enter Your Mail Address

- Advertisement -

- Advertisement -

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.