Ultimate magazine theme for WordPress.

- Advertisement -

TSC Reveals 18 New Hardship Areas in the 2021 – 2025 CBA

Tsc hardship areas 2021-2025 by newspro.co.ke

- Advertisement -

TSC Reveals 18 New Hardship Areas in the 2021 – 2025 CBA

TSC Releases new List of Hardship Areas and Counties incorporated into the new CBA 2021-2025: Here are the respective counties and selected sub-counties

- Advertisement -

TSC Has Revealed 18 New Hardship Areas in the 2021 – 2025 CBA

The Teachers Service Commission (TSC) has published eighteen new hardship areas that the Commission has now recognized officially.

In the Collective Bargaining Agreement (CBA) signed between TSC and the main teachers’ unions, the Commission promised to embark on promoting teachers serving in Arid and Semi-Arid Lands (ASAL) and hard to staff areas that hold administrative positions progressively until they reach grades that are commensurate to their respective positions.

The following are the official ASAL and Hard to staff areas:

Baringo North; Tiaty East, Tiaty West And Marigat Sub-Counties In Baringo County.
Garissa County
Suba And Mbita Sub-Counties In Homa Bay County
Isiolo County
Mashuuru, Loitoktok And Kajiado West Sub-Counties In Kajiado County
Kwale County
Magarini And Ganze In Kilifi County
Lamu County
Mandera County
Marsabit County
Mumoni, Mutito And Tseikuru Sub-Counties In Kitui County
Narok South And Narok North Sub-Counties In Narok County
Samburu County
Taita Taveta County
Tana River County
Turkana County
Wajir County
West Pokot County


Related Content

TSC Hardship Counties and Allowance per Job Group ; TSC Releases a new list of hardship Counties and Allowances to be given

TSC Hardship Counties and Allowance per Job Group ; TSC Releases a new list of hardship Counties and Allowances to be given

Latest TSC Hardship Counties 2021-2022: According to the Teachers’ employer, Teachers Service Commission, payment of the hardship allowance will no longer be paid to the staff working in the recently scrapped areas.

All the Sub-counties located in Nyandarua County have now been scrapped off completely from the list of hardship areas. Also affected are Kigumo, Murang’a, Kandara and Nyahururu Sub- Counties.


Newly released list of TSC designated hardship counties and Allowance per Job group.

The Commission has Mapped various areas as hardship. The areas considered as hardship include all those that are prone to terrorism, famine and aridity. As of 2012, TSC had about 38 areas approved and documented as hardship.

Currently, the teachers teaching in schools located in some parts of the following counties receive monthly hardship allowances.


1 Garissa County

2 Isiolo County

3 Kilifi County

4 Kwale County

5 Lamu County

6 Mandera County

7 Marsabit County

8 Narok County

9 Samburu County

10 Taita Taveta County

11 Tana River County

12 Turkana

13 Wajir County

14 West Pokot County.

- Advertisement -

Related articles

TSC Hardship areas in Kenya and Allowance rates For Teachers in Hardship Areas per job group

Hardship areas, 57 Years of Independence

TSC hardship areas and Allowances Rates per Job group

TSC set to do away with Hardship allowances for some areas


The Teachers Service Commission, TSC, pays extra allowances (hardship allowances) to teachers working in areas classified as hardship. While classifying an area to be a hardship area, the locality must meet any of the following conditions:

~Lack of or unavailability or inaccessibility to enough and quality food,

~Inadequate transport and communication network or poor road network.

~Limited and insufficient basic social services and amenities,

~Persistent harsh and unfavorable climatic conditions like flooding, landslides and drought,

~High rates of Insecurity and a big possibility of security threats.

Hardship allowance on that note is therefore paid in an effort to compensate for the cost of living for teachers working in areas designated as hardship.

As stated above, teachers working in hardship areas face a couple of challenges; ranging from lack of enough and clean water, constant flooding to hostile living conditions characterized by constant attacks from bandits.

Way back in December, 2014, the Salaries and Remuneration Commission, SRC, reviewed hardship Allowances to be paid at a flat rate for all equivalent grades/ job groups.


The Commission however effectively abolished the pegging of the hardship allowance as a percentage of basic pay.

The list below summarizes the monthly hardship allowance rates that are paid to teachers working in hardship areas; per job group:

S/NO GRADE TSC SCALE FORMER JOB GROUP Hardship Allowance- in Kshs per Month

1 B5 5 G 6,600

2 C1 6 H 8,200

3 C2 7 I 10,900

4 C3 8 J 12,300

5 C4 9 K 14,650

6 C5 10 L 17,100

7 D1 11 M 27,300

8 D2 12 N 27,300

9 D3 13 P 31,500

10 D4 14 Q 31,500

11 D5 15 R 38,100


Enter Your Mail Address

- Advertisement -

- Advertisement -

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.