Ultimate magazine theme for WordPress.

- Advertisement -

TSC House and Hardship Allowances Per Job Group/Grade for Regular, Special Needs and Hardship Teachers 2021/2022


- Advertisement -

TSC House Allowances Per Job Group/Grade for Regular, Special Needs and Hardship Teachers 2021/2022

TSC House Allowances Per Job Group/Grade for Regular, Special Needs and Hardship Teachers 2021/2022

- Advertisement -

TSC News on House and Hardship Allowances for all Teachers per Job Group/Grade ; Check out the new distribution of TSC House Allowances for Teachers per Grade 2022/2023

In a nutshell:

In 2021, the Teachers Service Commission, TSC, refused to sign a monetary Collective bargaining agreement CBA for the 2021-2025 cycle that would have seen house allowances revised upwards for all the teachers.

Instead, the Commission managed to convince interested parties that is KUPPET, KNUT and KUSNET to go for a non-monetary Collective bargaining agreement CBA 2021-2025.

In the new CBA 2021-2025, teachers gained elongated maternity and paternity leave among other benefits.

KUPPET had earlier proposed to have all Allowances including house and commuter allowances harmonized for all the teachers in the new CBA 2021-2025 but the proposal did not see the light of the day since TSC through the salaries and remuneration Commission, SRC politely turned down the proposal.

Since the Commission did not increase house allowances for teachers, here is the Latest/New TSC House Allowances Distribution Table for all the Teachers 2022

TSC House Allowances Per Job Group 2022/2023

Teachers Service Commission pays teachers different types allowances. House allowance is one the allowances.

- Advertisement -

According to the current collective bargaining agreement, the current rates for house allowance will remain in place till June 2025. This is the year the next CBA is negotiated

Payment of house allowances is pegged two criteria; the teacher’s job group and work station.

Read also: TSC Hardship Allowance For Teachers Per Grade 2021

Teachers who work in Nairobi county are paid handsomely compared to those in other counties. A teacher in the lowest job group B5 and works at a school in Nairobi is paid sh 6,750 while the teacher serving in the highest job group takes home sh 50,000 monthly.

Other categories include;

Former Major Municipalities (Mombasa, Kisumu, Nakuru, Nyeri, Eldoret, Thika, Kisii, Malindi and Kitale),
Other former Municipalities; Ruiru, Kikuyu, Kitui, Machakos, Mlolongo, Athi River, Vihiga, Wote, Mumias, Bomet, Limuru, Kericho, Kimilili, Kakamega, Kapsabet, Kiambu, Bungoma, Webuye, Busia, Runyenjes, Migori, Embu, Homa Bay, Lodwar, Meru, Nyahururu, Nanyuki, Maua, Voi, Siaya, Chuka and Kerugoya/ Kutus

Other areas; this include all regions not mentioned in bullet 1-3 above.

S/No. JOB GROUP Nairobi Major municipalities Other municipalities others
1 B5 6,750 4,500 3,850 3,200
2 C1 10,000 7,500 5,800 4,200
3 C2 16,500 12,800 9,600 7,500
4 C3 28,000 22,000 16,500 13,000
5 C4 28,000 22,000 16,500 13,000
6 C5 35,000 25,500 18,000 20,000
7 D1 45,000 28,000 25,000 20,000
8 D2 50,000 35,000 25,000 20,000
9 D3 50,000 35,000 25,000 20,000
10 D4 50,000 35,000 25,000 20,000
11 D5 50,000 35,000 25,000 20,000

The table below summarizes the monthly hardship allowance rates that are paid to teachers working in hardship areas; per job group:

S/NO GRADE TSC SCALE FORMER JOB GROUP Hardship Allowance- in Kshs per Month
1 B5 5 G 6,600
2 C1 6 H 8,200
3 C2 7 I 10,900
4 C3 8 J 12,300
5 C4 9 K 14,650
6 C5 10 L 17,100
7 D1 11 M 27,300
8 D2 12 N 27,300
9 D3 13 P 31,500
10 D4 14 Q 31,500
11 D5 15  R 38,100


TSC designated hardship areas.

TSC has designated various areas as hardship. The areas considered as hardship include those that are prone to terrorism, famine and aridity. As of 2012, TSC had about 38 areas approved as hardship.

Currently, teachers teaching in schools located in some parts of the following counties receive monthly hardship allowances.

1 Garissa County
2 Isiolo County
3 Kilifi County
4 Kwale County
5 Lamu County
6 Mandera County
7 Marsabit County
8 Narok County
9 Samburu County
10 Taita Taveta County
11 Tana River County
12 Turkana
13 Wajir County
14 West Pokot County


Enter Your Mail Address

- Advertisement -

- Advertisement -

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.